Martine Bruggeman teaches artistic education at the Municipal Academy of Fine Arts at Bruges and at the St. Andreas grammar school at Sint-Kruis. Her aquarelles and her creations with paper and especially acrylic paint are exhibited regularly in Belgium and abroad and she already won several prizes and awards.

Martine Bruggeman also teaches art and lace history at the Lace Centre at Bruges and already published various works on the history of lace-making. Furthermore she gives classes of contemporary lace designing.

From 1996 till 2000 she directed the lace studio at the Bruges Museums, where the emphasis was laid on innovation in lace designing together with research activities. Now she directs the “Kant Act” group that is working on new lace designs and that is located in the premises of the “Kamer van Retorika” at Sint-Michiels (Bruges).

In 1997 she got the award of the “Most Cultural Woman of the Year” in Bruges.

Martine Bruggeman also gives lectures on the history of lace, both in Belgium and abroad, and publishes articles on lace creation or on some aspect of history of lace, in art and lace magazines.

Martine Bruggeman enseigne la formation artistique à l’Académie municipale des Beaux-Arts à Bruges et au lycée St. André à Sint-Kruis. Ses aquarelles et ses créations au papier et surtout à la peinture acrylique sont régulièrement exposées tant en Belgique qu’à l’étranger et lui ont valu divers prix et distinctions.

Martine Bruggeman enseigne aussi l’histoire de l’art et de la dentelle au Centre de la Dentelle à Bruges et a déjà publié plusieurs ouvrages sur l’histoire de la dentelle. Elle donne également des cours de conception d’ouvrages de dentelle contemporaine.

De 1996 à 2000 elle a dirigé l’atelier de dentelle dans les musées brugeois, un atelier qui s’appliquait à la rénovation dans la dentelle, alliée à des travaux de recherche. En ce moment elle dirige l’atelier « Kant-Act » qui garantit à nouveau une nouvelle approche formelle de la dentelle et qui est établi dans le local de la « Kamer van Retorika » à Sint-Michiels.

En 1997 lui fut décerné le titre de « Femme culturelle de l’année ».

Martine Bruggeman donne aussi des conférences en Belgique et à l’étranger et publie dans divers magazines d’art et de dentelle des articles sur la création dentellière ou sur des aspects de l’histoire de la dentelle.