“The works of Martine Bruggeman are about fiction and reality, about things that are passing by but that can no more be wiped out. In her creations Martine Bruggeman demonstrates connections: so different elements of one and the same work form a whole, just as in our own life where dreams, expectations and reality also form one whole.”
Willy Leloup

“Her work is playing with light and colour. It is obvious that besides spontaneous and playful elements, the well-thought-out is not far away and so the spectator discovers here the essential characteristic of human life immediately: the permanent search of harmony between the extremes. Her paintings are playful but have been created by someone who knows the rules of play very well.”
Etienne Vercarre

“Her work is one great adventure. A playful Martine loves to tempt the artistic fate. In her desolate landscapes she puts seductive depths where the elements are apparently abandoned to their fate. Being capricious. Giving freedom but within the limits of what can be supported. Martine does love adventure, but she is pulling the strings.”
Johan Debruyne

“The artist announces the light: she calls it up, catches it, filters it and turns it on or off. So come into being attractive but sometimes hard and exhausting questions and contradictions, which make that her paintings become in their own representation a question itself. She feels for surprises and suggests with a contagious facility.”
Fernand Bonneure

“Les peintures de Martine Bruggeman évoquent la fiction et la réalité et font apparaître des chimères qui passent mais ne peuvent plus être effacées. Martine Bruggeman trace dans ses créations des rapports: les divers éléments d’un seul ouvrage forment ainsi un tout, comme dans notre propre vie où les rêves, les espoirs et la réalité forment une unité indissociable.”
Willy Leloup

“Son œuvre est un jeu de lumière et de couleur. Nous comprenons tout de suite qu’outre le jeu et la spontanéité, ses peintures sont le résultat d’une profonde réflexion et l’expression d’un des aspects essentiels de la vie humaine: la recherche continue de l’harmonie entre les extrêmes. Son œuvre apparaît une fantaisie ludique, mais créée par quelqu’un qui connaît très bien les règles du jeu.”
Etienne Vercarre

“Son œuvre est une grande aventure. Une Martine joueuse aime la confrontation avec le destin artistique. Dans ses paysages désolés elle intègre des profondeurs séductrices où les éléments sont apparemment livrés à leur sort. Etre capricieuse. Accorder des libertés mais dans les limites de ce que la vie peut supporter. Martine aime bien l’aventure, mais veut en même temps tirer les ficelles. Par moments elle laisse ses enfants s’échapper quelque peu, mais quand la menace devient trop forte, elle les rappelle à l’ordre.”
Johan Debruyne

“L’artiste annonce la lumière: elle l’évoque, la capte, la filtre et l’allume ou l’éteint. Ainsi naissent des questions et des contradictions attrayantes, parfois dures et toujours épuisantes, si bien que la peinture devient dans sa représentation un appel lancé au spectateur. Elle manie subtilement la surprise et est une maîtresse de la suggestion.”
Fernand Bonneure